GHads mind

developers thoughts & finds

HTML5 <time> microformat with Grails (UTC dates…)

with 2 comments

As I mentioned last post I’m doing a little pet project with Grails, HTML5 and MongoDB. Now I wanted to include the rendering of dates in StackOverflow style, something like: 5 minutes ago, about an hour ago and such. As HTML5 defines a <time> microformat I naturally wanted to use this one today and also found a nice jQuery plugin to convert times into the format I like: timeago. This one also includes support for the <time> tag by default.

But there’s a catch (as always…). The <time> tag and the plugin depend on ISO8601 UTC dates, which MongoDB stores nicely. But by getting data from MongoDB, you have your java.util.Date class and trouble starts, as there is no default way of formatting and recalculating dates to UTC with one call. Else I could have used the Grails included formatDate tag.

So I first searched for an easy way to format a Date instance to ISO8601 UTC format. Luckily I found the following post that shows how to set UTC for a formatter and the right format string for ISO8601. As this is a two line call and I didn’t want to make a Utils-Class for representation only to call it from the controller and having a String for rendering instead of a Date. And I didn’t want to include the formatter code on every page, I came up with a Grails Filter solution.

By including this class in grails-app/conf:

class MyFilters {
	def filters = {
		addUtils(controller:'*', action:'*') {
			after = {
				// add formatter for UTC dates in ISO8601 format
				SimpleDateFormat ISO8601UTC = new SimpleDateFormat("yyyy-MM-dd'T'HH:mm:ss.SSS'Z'")
				ISO8601UTC.setTimeZone(TimeZone.getTimeZone("UTC"))
				params["_UTC"] = ISO8601UTC
			}
		}
	}
}

I have a new formatter instance inside the params ready to use for formating dates to UTC in the correct way for the tag:

<time class="timeago" datetime="${params._UTC.format(created)}">${created}</time>

I used an underscore to seperate the utils from regular paramaters used to render the site. For now I don’t care about a new instance for every call, but if you care, just make the formatter static and reduce the scope of the addUtils Filter to only the pages that need it.

Greetings,
GHad

Written by ghads

January 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there
    I googled html5 tag and grails and found your post
    Your solution is nice but I was just wondering why u chose filter over grails tag is there any advantage ?

    • It was just the first solution I had in mind first, because at this time I worked with Filters heavily. Of course, a solution via tags is also an option. I don’t think Filters have advantages over a Grails Tag based solution, at least I can not think of any at the moment. Thanks for commenting.
      Greetz,
      GHad

      ghads

      July 6, 2011 at 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

